Virtual Events

Armchair Traveler
Winter 2021

We have all missed gathering together to make music, attending live concerts, and traveling to new and favorite destinations these past months.


In response we have imagined, through music, a journey to the capitals of 17th-century Europe. Our Armchair Traveler, after lamenting the current state of affairs, will set out on to explore Europe, with music written for royal courts, merchants, emperors, and the church.

Their journey ranges from Italy, to the French court, on to Austria and Germany, and ends in London with a stately English Pavan by Purcell. You will hear lively French dance by Rameau, a fantastical suite by Telemann, and elegant dances from Leipzig.


In curating this program, violist Idalynn Besser seeks to bring you music you may not be familiar with - much like traveling to a totally new country. 

We hope that you will join us for this and future musical journeys, virtual and otherwise.

This program will go on sale Sunday, January 24th. Tickets are $15 per household and will allow you to view the performance on our website until March 15.

This program has ended

Having trouble buying tickets or viewing the video? Just let us know and we'll help you out!


Johann Heinrich Schmelzer: Sonata Lamentavole

for violin, 2 violas, and continuo

Antonio Bertali: Tausend Gulden sonata for 2 violins, 3 violas, and continuo

Jean-Phillipe Rameau: "Les Sauvages" from Les Indes Galantes for solo harpsichord


Jean-Pierre Guignon: Variations on “Les Sauvages”


George Philip Telemann: Gulliver Suite for 2 violins


Johann Hermann Schein: Banchetto Musichale, Suite Nr. 6 in a minor

Henry Purcell: Pavane and Chaconne in g minor for three violins and cello

Duration: 1 hour


Maria Romero, concertmaster; Laura Ross, violin; Annaliese Kowert, violin; Idalynn Besser, viola; Sarah Cote, viola; Bergen Christensen, viola; Christopher Stenstrom, cello; Glen Wanner, bass; Polly Brecht, harpsichord

We are deeply grateful to Windell Little and First United Methodist Church of Lebanon for
the opportunity to record in their sanctuary. Special thanks also to Marcus Wanner, our sound and video wizard.